Covid-19: Johnson leading briefing after 10 million vaccinated in UK


    Copyright: Reuters

    Image caption: King Salman was vaccinated in January

    Saudi Arabia is to suspend entry to travellers from 20 countries – including the UK, US and UAE – at 21:00 local time (18:00 GMT) due to rising cases.

    Other countries on the list include Argentina, Germany, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Pakistan, Brazil, Portugal, Turkey, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, France, Lebanon, Egypt, India and Japan.

    The measures include people coming from elsewhere but who have been in the countries on the list at any time during the previous 14 days.

    Saudi citizens, diplomats and health practitioners and their families are exempt from the ban.

    Saudi Arabia has seen 368,000 cases and 6,383 deaths, according to Johns Hopkins University in the US.